Our true identity and meaning

Nowadays, it is often necessary to make a name for yourself to be important and important to others and yourself. It seems that people are on an insatiable quest for identity and meaning. But Jesus already said, "He who finds his life will lose it; and who loses his life for my sake will find it "(Mt 10, 39). As a church, we have learned from this truth. Since 2009 we call ourselves Grace Communion International and this name refers to our true identity, which is based in Jesus and not in us. Let's take a closer look at this name and find out what's in it.

Grace

Grace is the first word in our name because it best describes our individual and shared journey to God in Jesus Christ through the Holy Spirit. "Rather, we believe that we will be saved by the grace of the Lord Jesus, just as they are" (Acts 15, 11). We are "without merit from His grace through the redemption that has been done through Christ Jesus" (Rom 3, 24). By grace alone, God lets us (through Christ) share in his own righteousness. The Bible is constantly teaching us that the message of faith is a message of God's grace (see Acts 14, 3, 20, 24, 20, 32).

The basis of God's relationship with man has always been grace and truth. While the law was an expression of these values, God's grace itself found full expression through Jesus Christ. By the grace of God we are saved only by Jesus Christ and not by keeping the law. The law by which every man is damned is not God's last word for us. His last word for us is Jesus. He is the perfect and personal revelation of God's grace and truth that he freely gave to humanity.
Our condemnation under the law is justified and just. We do not achieve legitimate behavior out of ourselves, for God is not a prisoner of his own laws and legalities. God in us acts in divine freedom according to his will.

His will is defined by grace and salvation. The Apostle Paul writes the following: "I do not throw away the grace of God; for when justice comes by the law, Christ died in vain "(Gal 2, 21). Paul describes the grace of God as the only alternative he does not want to throw away. Grace is not a thing that can be weighed, measured and acted upon. Grace is the living goodness of God, through which he pursues the human heart and the mind and changes both.

In his letter to the congregation in Rome, Paul writes that the only thing we try to accomplish by our own efforts is to pay sin, which is death itself. That's the bad news. But there is also a particularly good one, for "the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord" (Rom 6, 24). Jesus is the grace of God. He is God's salvation, which was given to all people.

Community (Communion)

Community is the second word in our name because we enter into a true relationship with the Father through the Son in communion with the Holy Spirit. In Christ we have real communion with God and with each other. James Torrance put it this way: "The triune God creates communion in such a way that we are only real people when we have found our identity in communion with Him and other people." (From Worship Community and the Triune God of Grace, p. 74).

The Father, Son, and Holy Spirit are in perfect communion, and Jesus prayed that his disciples would share that relationship and reflect it in the world (Joh 14, 20, 17, 23). The apostle John describes this community as a deep rootedness in love. This deep love describes John as the eternal communion to the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. True relationship means living in communion with Christ in the Father's love through the Holy Spirit (1, Joh 4, 8).

It is often said that being a Christian is a personal relationship with Jesus. The Bible uses several analogies to describe this relationship. One speaks of the Lord's relationship with his slave. Derived from this, we should honor and follow our Lord, Jesus Christ. Further, Jesus said to his followers, "I do not say that you are servants; for a servant does not know what his master is doing. But I told you that you are friends; for all that I have heard from my Father, I have made known to you "(Jn 15, 15). Yet another picture speaks of the relationship between a father and his children (Joh 1, 12-13). Even the image of the groom and his bride already found in the Old Testament uses Jesus (Mt 9, 15) and Paul writes of the relationship between husband and wife (Eph 5). The Hebrews even say that as Christians we are siblings of Jesus (Hebr 2, 11). All these images (slave, friend, child, spouse, sister, brother) embody the idea of ​​a deep, positive, personal community. But all these are just pictures. Our Triune God is the source and truth of this relationship and this community. It is a community that he generously shares with us in his goodness.

Jesus prayed that we would be with Him in eternity and that we would rejoice in this goodness (Joh 17, 24). In this prayer, he invited us to live as part of the community among each other and with the Father. When Jesus ascended to heaven, he took us, his friends, into communion with the Father and the Holy Spirit. Paul says that through the Holy Spirit there is a way by which we sit next to Christ and in the presence of the Father (Eph 2, 6). We may already experience this communion with God, even though the fullness of that relationship will only become visible when Christ returns and establishes His rule. That's why fellowship is an integral part of our faith community. Our identity, now and forever, is founded in Christ and in the communion that God shares with us as Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

International (International)

International is the third word in our name because our church is a very international community. We reach people across different cultural, linguistic and national boundaries - we reach people worldwide. Even though we are statistically a small community, there are communities in every American state, as well as Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean, South America, Europe, Asia, Australia, Africa, and the Pacific Islands. We have more than 50.000 members in more than 70 countries that have found homes in more than 900 communities.

God has brought us together in this international community. It is a blessing that we are big enough to work together and yet small enough to be personally personal. In our community, friendships are constantly being built across national and cultural boundaries that today often divide, built and nurtured our world. That is certainly a sign of God's grace!

As a church, it is important to us to live and pass on the gospel that God has placed in our hearts. Even to experience the richness of God's grace and love motivates us to pass the good news on to other people. We want other people to enter into a relationship with Jesus Christ and share in that joy. We can not keep the gospel secret because we want everyone in the world to experience God's grace and become part of the triune community. That's the message God has given us to share with the world.

by Joseph Tkach


pdfOur true identity and meaning

Unsere wahre Identität und Bedeutung

Heutzutage gilt es oft, dass man sich einen Namen machen muss, um für andere und sich selbst bedeutend und wichtig zu sein. Es scheint, als ob Menschen auf einer unstillbaren Suche nach Identität und Bedeutung sind. Doch Jesus sagte bereits: „ Wer sein Leben findet, der wird’s verlieren; und wer sein Leben verliert um meinetwillen, der wird’s finden” (Mt 10, 39). Als Gemeinde haben wir von dieser Wahrheit gelernt. Seit 2009 nennen wir uns Grace Communion International und dieser Name verweist auf unsere wahre Identität, die in Jesus und nicht in uns begründet ist. Lassen Sie uns diesen Namen genauer anschauen und herausfinden, was sich in ihm verbirgt.

Gnade (Grace)

Gnade ist das erste Wort in unserem Namen, weil es unsere individuelle und gemeinsame Reise zu Gott in Jesus Christus durch den Heiligen Geist am besten beschreibt. „ Vielmehr glauben wir, durch die Gnade des Herrn Jesus selig zu werden, ebenso wie auch sie” (Apg 15, 11). Wir sind „ ohne Verdienst gerecht aus seiner Gnade durch die Erlösung, die durch Christus Jesus geschehen ist” (Röm 3, 24). Durch Gnade allein lässt uns Gott (durch Christus) Anteil an seiner eigenen Gerechtigkeit haben. Die Bibel lehrt uns beständig, dass die Glaubensbotschaft eine Botschaft über Gottes Gnade ist (siehe Apg 14, 3; 20, 24; 20, 32).

Die Grundlage für Gottes Beziehung zu den Menschen war immer von Gnade und Wahrheit geprägt. Während das Gesetz ein Ausdruck dieser Werte war, fand Gottes Gnade selbst vollen Ausdruck durch Jesus Christus. Durch die Gnade Gottes sind wir allein durch Jesus Christus errettet und nicht durch das Einhalten des Gesetzes. Das Gesetz, durch das jeder Mensch verdammt ist, ist nicht Gottes letztes Wort für uns. Sein letztes Wort für uns ist Jesus. Er ist die vollkommene und persönliche Offenbarung von Gottes Gnade und Wahrheit, die er der Menschheit in freien Stücken gegeben hat.
Unsere Verurteilung unter dem Gesetz ist berechtigt und gerecht. Wir erreichen rechtmässiges Verhalten nicht aus uns selbst, denn Gott ist kein Gefangener seiner eigenen Gesetze und Rechtmässigkeiten. Gott in uns wirkt in göttlicher Freiheit nach seinem Willen.

Sein Wille ist durch Gnade und Erlösung definiert. Der Apostel Paulus schreibt dazu folgendes: „ Ich werfe nicht weg die Gnade Gottes; denn wenn die Gerechtigkeit durch das Gesetz kommt, so ist Christus vergeblich gestorben” (Gal 2, 21). Paulus beschreibt die Gnade Gottes als einzige Alternative, die er nicht wegwerfen möchte. Gnade ist keine Sache, die gewogen und gemessen werden und mit der man handeln kann. Gnade ist die lebendige Güte Gottes, durch die er dem menschlichen Herz und dem Verstand nachgeht und beides verändert.

In seinem Brief an die Gemeinde in Rom schreibt Paulus, dass das Einzige, was wir durch unsere eigene Mühe zu erreichen versuchen der Sünde Sold ist, nämlich der Tod selbst. Das ist die schlechte Nachricht. Doch es gibt auch eine ganz besonders Gute, denn „ die Gabe Gottes aber ist das ewige Leben in Christus Jesus, unserm Herrn” (Röm 6, 24). Jesus ist die Gnade Gottes. Er ist Gottes Erlösung, die für alle Menschen frei gegeben wurde.

Gemeinschaft (Communion)

Gemeinschaft ist das zweite Wort in unserem Namen, weil wir in eine wahrhaftige Beziehung mit dem Vater durch den Sohn in der Gemeinschaft mit dem Heiligen Geist treten. In Christus haben wir echte Gemeinschaft mit Gott und miteinander. James Torrance drückte es so aus: „ Der dreieinige Gott erschafft Gemeinschaft auf eine solche Art und Weise, dass wir nur echte Menschen sind, wenn wir unsere Identität in der Gemeinschaft mit ihm und anderen Menschen gefunden haben.“ (aus Worship Community and the Triune God of Grace, S. 74).

Der Vater, Sohn und Heilige Geist sind in einer perfekten Gemeinschaft und Jesus betete dafür, dass seine Jünger diese Beziehung teilen würden und sie diese in der Welt widerspiegeln (Joh 14, 20; 17, 23). Der Apostel Johannes beschreibt diese Gemeinschaft als eine tiefe Verwurzelung in der Liebe. Diese tiefe Liebe beschreibt Johannes als die ewige Gemeinschaft zu Vater, Sohn und Heiligem Geist. Wahre Beziehung heisst in Gemeinschaft mit Christus in der Liebe des Vaters durch den Heiligen Geist zu leben (1. Joh 4, 8).

Es wird oft gesagt, dass es sich beim Christsein um eine persönliche Beziehung zu Jesus handelt. Die Bibel verwendet mehrere Analogien um diese Beziehung zu beschreiben. In einer wird von der Beziehung des Herrn gegenüber seinem Sklaven gesprochen. Abgeleitet davon ergibt sich, dass wir unseren Herrn, Jesus Christus, ehren und ihm folgen sollen. Weiter sagte Jesus zu seinen Nachfolgern: „ Ich sage hinfort nicht, dass ihr Knechte seid; denn ein Knecht weiss nicht, was sein Herr tut. Euch aber habe ich gesagt, dass ihr Freunde seid; denn alles, was ich von meinem Vater gehört habe, habe ich euch kundgetan“ (Joh 15, 15). Wieder ein weiteres Bild spricht von der Beziehung zwischen einem Vater und seinen Kindern (Joh 1, 12-13). Sogar das Bild vom Bräutigam und seiner Braut, das sich bereits im Alten Testament findet, verwendet Jesus (Mt 9, 15) und Paulus schreibt von der Beziehung zwischen Ehemann und seiner Frau (Eph 5). Im Hebräerbrief heisst es sogar, dass wir als Christen Geschwister Jesu seien (Hebr 2, 11). All diese Bilder (Sklave, Freund, Kind, Ehepartner, Schwester, Bruder) beinhalten den Gedanken einer tiefen positiv besetzten, persönlichen Gemeinschaft zueinander. Doch all das sind nur Bilder. Unser dreieiniger Gott ist die Quelle und die Wahrheit dieser Beziehung und dieser Gemeinschaft. Es ist eine Gemeinschaft, die er in seiner Güte grosszügig mit uns teilt.

Jesus betete dafür, dass wir mit ihm in der Ewigkeit sein würden und uns an dieser Güte freuen würden (Joh 17, 24). In diesem Gebet lud er uns ein, als Teil der Gemeinschaft untereinander und mit dem Vater zu leben. Als Jesus in den Himmel aufgefahren ist, nahm er uns, seine Freunde, in die Gemeinschaft zum Vater und Heiligen Geist. Paulus sagt, dass es durch den Heiligen Geist einen Weg gibt, durch den wir neben Christus sitzen und in der Gegenwart des Vaters sind (Eph 2, 6). Wir dürfen schon jetzt diese Gemeinschaft mit Gott erfahren, auch wenn die ganze Fülle dieser Beziehung erst dann sichtbar werden wird, wenn Christus wiederkommt und seine Herrschaft errichtet. Deshalb ist Gemeinschaft ein wesentlicher Teil unserer Glaubensgemeinschaft. Unsere Identität, jetzt und für immer, ist in Christus und in der Gemeinschaft, die Gott mit uns als Vater, Sohn und Heiliger Geist teilt, gegründet.

International (International)

International ist das dritte Wort in unserem Namen weil unsere Kirche eine sehr internationale Gemeinschaft ist. Wir erreichen Menschen über unterschiedliche kulturelle, sprachliche und nationale Grenzen hinweg – wir erreichen Menschen weltweit. Auch wenn wir statistisch gesehen eine kleine Gemeinschaft sind, so finden sich in jedem amerikanischen Bundesstaat Gemeinden und auch in Kanada, Mexiko, der Karibik, Südamerika, Europa, Asien, Australien, Afrika und auf den Pazifikinseln. Wir haben mehr als 50.000 Mitglieder in mehr als 70 Ländern, die in mehr als 900 Gemeinden ein Zuhause gefunden haben.

Gott hat uns in dieser internationalen Gemeinschaft zusammen gebracht. Es ist ein Segen, dass wir gross genug sind, um gemeinsam zu arbeiten und doch klein genug, damit diese gemeinsamen Arbeiten dennoch persönlich sind. In unserer Gemeinde werden ständig Freundschaften über nationale und kulturelle Grenzen hinweg, die heutzutage unsere Welt oft teilen, gebaut und gepflegt. Das ist sicherlich ein Zeichen von Gottes Gnade!

Als eine Gemeinde liegt es uns am Herzen, das Evangelium, das Gott uns in unsere Herzen gelegt hat, zu leben und weiterzugeben. Selbst den Reichtum von Gottes Gnade und Liebe zu erfahren, motiviert uns, die gute Nachricht auch an andere Menschen weiterzugeben. Wir möchten, dass auch andere Menschen eine Beziehung mit Jesus Christus eingehen und pflegen und an dieser Freude teilhaben können. Wir können das Evangelium nicht geheim halten, weil wir möchten, dass alle Menschen auf der Welt Gottes Gnade erfahren und Teil der dreieinigen Gemeinschaft werden. Das ist die Botschaft, die Gott uns aufgetragen hat, um sie mit der Welt zu teilen.

von Joseph Tkach


pdfUnsere wahre Identität und Bedeutung